France Kenya

President William Ruto Nominates Betty Chebet Cherwon as Ambassador to France

President William Ruto Nominates 31 Ambassadors in Government Shake-up

4 October 2023

In a significant move aimed at bolstering Kenya’s diplomatic presence worldwide, President William Ruto has nominated 31 ambassadors to represent the country in various countries across the globe. This latest government shake-up, which was announced on October 4, 2023, signifies a strategic shift in Kenya’s foreign policy and diplomatic relations.

In a statement released by Chief of Staff and Head of Public Service Felix Koskei, it was revealed that President Ruto carefully selected a combination of technocrats and loyal allies to take up these critical diplomatic roles. The nominees are set to undergo a rigorous vetting process at Parliament, and upon approval, they will be formally appointed by President Ruto.

Among the notable appointments, Betty Chebet Cherwon has been named as the new Ambassador to France, with Dr. Alome Kasera Achayo as the Deputy Ambassador. Additionally, Prof. Peter Ngure will serve as the new Ambassador to UNESCO in Paris.

Read Also: Ruto Scraps Diaspora Ministry in Major Cabinet Shake-up

The complete list of the 31 newly nominated ambassadors is as follows:

  1. Amb. Tabu Irina – Dublin, Ireland
  2. Amb. Willy Bett – Beijing, China
  3. Jane Wairimu Ndurumo – Pretoria, South Africa
  4. Amb. George Morara Orina – Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  5. Col. Rtd. Shem Amadi – Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo
  6. Ms. Sabdio Dido Bashuna – Gaborone, Botswana
  7. Mr. Jeremy Nyamasyo Ndola – Juba, South Sudan
  8. Mr. Jeremy Laibuttah – Khartoum, Sudan
  9. Mr. George Macgoye – Djibouti, Djibouti
  10. Ms. Joyce Khasimwa Mmaitsi – Luanda, Angola
  11. Amb. Phillip Mundia Githiora – Maputo, Mozambique
  12. Amb. Isaac Keen Parashina – Abuja, Nigeria
  13. Ms. Janet Mwawasi Oben – Kigali, Rwanda
  14. Hon. Kiringo Kubai – Mogadishu, Somalia
  15. Ms. Mercy Mueni Mutuku – Arusha, Tanzania
  16. Mr. Abdi Weli Muhamad Hussein – Hargeisa, Somalia
  17. Ms. Fouzia Abdirahman Abass – Bern, Switzerland
  18. Amb. Betty Chebet Cherwon – Paris, France
  19. Amb. Fredrick Musambili Matwan’ga – Rome, Italy
  20. Amb. Angeline Kavindu – Stockholm, Sweden
  21. Amb. Stella Orina – Berlin, Germany
  22. Ms. Nairimas Sharon – Ole Madrid, Spain
  23. Mr. Maurice Makoloo – Vienna, Austria
  24. Prof. Peter Ngure – UNESCO, Paris
  25. Mr. Peter Munyiri – New Delhi, India
  26. Prof. Emmy Jerono Kipsoi – Seoul, South Korea
  27. Mr. John Ronald Ekitela – Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  28. Dr. Wilson Kogo – Canberra, Australia
  29. Mr. Mohamed Ramadhan Ruwange – Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  30. Lt. Gen Albert Kendagor – Geneva, Switzerland
  31. Mr. Mohamed Nur Adan – Doha, Qatar

In addition to these appointments, President Ruto has also selected 14 Kenyan diplomats to serve as Deputy Ambassadors, further enhancing Kenya’s diplomatic footprint across the globe:

  1. Amb. James Waweru – Geneva, Switzerland
  2. Dr. Alome Kasera Achayo – Paris, France
  3. Amb. Edwin Afande – London, United Kingdom
  4. Ms. Valerie Rugene – Berlin, Germany
  5. Ms. Irene Maswan – Moscow, Russia
  6. Mr. Daniel Cheruiyot Tanui – Brussels, Germany
  7. Mr. Anthony Mayo Ngugi – The Hague, Netherlands
  8. Dr. Jayne Khasoa Luseneka – UNESCO, Paris
  9. Mr. Moni Manyange – Ottawa, Canada
  10. Ms. Terry Ramadhani – New Delhi, India
  11. Ms. Lynette Mwendwa Ndile – Beijing, China
  12. Amb. Jackline Moraa Kenani – Seoul, South Korea
  13. Amb. Arthur Andambi – Tokyo, Japan
  14. Mr. Daniel Mumina Nganda – Dubai, UAE

These nominations reflect Kenya’s commitment to strengthening diplomatic ties, promoting trade and investment, and advancing the country’s interests on the global stage. The forthcoming vetting process at Parliament will play a crucial role in ensuring that these diplomats are well-prepared to represent Kenya effectively in their respective host countries.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Service